MMT Recommends: week 17 of #ThingsToDoFromHome

Happy Sunday MMT Fam! Here is week 17’s virtual list featuring TV, online and streaming suggestions that you and/or the family can enjoy from home. I’m still sharing events on Instagram and/or the MMT Facebook page throughout the week, so hit those hyperlinks, give me a follow, and don’t forget to share the wealth with others!

  • Our friends at the Philadelphia Film Society are continuing virtual streaming offerings of newly released and recommended films, including titles like “John Lewis: Good Trouble,”  “Flannery,” and “We Are Little Zombies.”  PFS is also highly recommending its “Revolutionary” pick of the week – the 2018 documentary RBG about the iconic Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Click here to find out where you can rent/view “RBG” (trailer below) and get additional information about all these events and more at the PFS website here.
  • Our friends over at Revry, the first LGBTQ+ virtual cable TV network, in conjunction with Xfinity is hosting the FREE virtual screening event The Beltway Pride Screening Series – a collection of six compelling films that explore life through the lens of the LGBTQ community. All six movies can be viewed for free online via the Revry.tv network – with a new film being showcased each month through October. The first film VINTAGE – Families of Value is available now through July 30. The impressionistic documentary film, which is in its 25th year, intimately explores three African-American families through the eyes of lesbian and gay male siblings – two or more in the same family. On Thursday, July 30 from 8-8:45 p.m. ET/5-5:45 p.m. PT, filmmaker Thomas Allen Harris and other cast members will join Pride Center of Maryland’s LaKesha M. Davis to discuss this groundbreaking documentary, which was partially filmed in Baltimore.  Click here to RSVP and view both events.
  • World Cafe Live has upcoming streaming events that you can participate in as well. The first is “Grey’s Anatomy” Virtual Quizzo this Wednesday, July 29. WCL is taking you back to Seasons 1-5, which it decribes as the “magic” years of Meredith, Alex, George, Izzy, and Christina. Tickets are $10 and the event will be hosted by Chris Fish. The last one sold out, so don’t wait to grab those tickets! The second event invites audiences to join the band Lucius for the third installment of their live stream series featuring special guest Jim James of My Morning Jacket! Tune in this Thursday at 9 p.m. ET for a performance of their album Songs From The Bromley House. A portion of sales will support World Cafe Live when you purchase tickets through link. Additional information is available for both events at worldcafelive.com.
  • Yippee is a new streaming service that challengers viewers to “watch something good” and is extremely kid/family-oriented. Viewers can watch VeggieTales, Madeline, Parent Approved YouTubers and more! The service is offering a FREE 7-day trial, with subsequent monthly charges at $7.99. Get additional info and sign up for the free trial here.
  • Lastly, our friends at the Wizard World Virtual Experience have released additional schedule info as follows: · Sunday, July 26 · UCre-8 Comics with Victor Dandridge · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
    · Sunday, July 26 · How to YouTube with Fandoms Anonymous · 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
    · Sunday, July 26, “Chilling Adventures of Sabrina,” Lucy Davis, Michelle Gomez, Miranda Otto · 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT
    · Monday, July 27 · Bugs Bunny 80th Birthday, A Look Back at the Icon · Time TBD
    · Tuesday, July 28, “Supergirl,” Mehcad Brooks, Jesse Rath, Sam Witwer, Helen Slater, Erica Durance,       Nicole Maines · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
    · Tuesday, July 28 · Buffy Fan Panel with Pure Fandom · 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT
    · Friday, July 31 · The Wives of Harry Potter · 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT
    · Friday, July 31 · The Drunk Texts: Vol. 1 · 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
    · Sunday, August 2, Micky Dolenz, “The Monkees” · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
    · Saturday, August 8, “LEGO Masters,” The Newlyweds: Tyler and Amy Clites; The Bearded Builders: Boone Langston and Mark Cruickshank; The Eccentrics: Samuel and Jessica Ragzy Ewud · 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
    These live Q&A panels are FREE for fans to view (on Twitch, Facebook, YouTube) and submit questions in text chat. Separately fans may purchase live video chat sessions, recorded videos and autographs. During each session, the celebrities will participate in a free live moderated video Q&A, followed by one-on-one video chats, recorded videos and autographs that are available to purchase. Fans can interact with Wizard Entertainment, obtain additional info and purchase tickets at wizardworld.com/comiccon.

That’s it for now MMT Fam! Until next thought, Thomasena



Categories: Mind on Movies, Music Musings, Scattered Thoughts, TV Thoughts

Tags: , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: