MMT Recommends: week 30 of #ThingsToDoFromHome

Happy Tuesday MMT Fam! Here’s another list of recommendations featuring TV, online and streaming suggestions that you and/or the family can enjoy from home, or at a reasonable social-distance. And I’m still sharing events and cool posts on Instagram and/or the MMT Facebook page throughout the week, so hit those hyperlinks, give me a follow, and don’t forget to share the wealth with others.

  • Our friends at the Philadelphia Film Society are continuing virtual streaming offerings of newly released and recommended films, including titles like “The Witmans,” “12 Hour Shift,” “My Name is Pedro,” and “The Disrupted.” You can get additional information about all these events and more at the PFS website here.
  • PFS is also continuing to offer drive-in movie options at the Philadelphia Naval Yard. Current selections include No Ordinary Man on October 28 (see MMT review here), Ammonite on the 30th, and Enemies of the State on November 1. Click the hyperlinks for each respective film’s info and click here to see the full line-up through November 2. Both the “No Ordinary Man” and “Enemies of the State” screenings are FREE, in addition to a few others courtesy of the PFS on Us program. Click here to get full listing and to register.
  • Our friends at the African American Museum in Philadelphia (AAMP) is presenting a virtual book club that will meet once a month via Zoom to reflect upon a recently released book relative to its current exhibitions. This Friday, October 30, it will discuss  Marking Time by Nicole Fleetwood in relation to the exhibition Rendering Justice curated by Jesse Krimes. General admission is $5. Click here to purchase tickets and get additional information.
  • The Philadelphia Clef Club is starting a five part Jazz Master Class Series where registrants can take free classes taught by celebrated artists. The first class, “A Work in Progress: My Composer Journey,” will occur on November 14 at 1pm and will be taught by composer and pianist Sumi Tonooka. Click here to register and get additional information. And check the videos below which feature a brief history lesson on the Clef Club, and a performance by Ms. Tonooka from several years back when she visited Media, PA.
  • Lastly, our friends at the Wizard World Virtual Experience have released additional schedule info featuring stars of iconic franchises across its digital video platforms in the coming weeks as follows: on Friday, writer/producer Dana Gould and director Nicholas Verso of the new Warner Bros. film Toys of Terror discuss the movie and their other works, beginning at 6:15 p.m ET / 3:15 p.m. PT. Then on Sunday it’s a “‘60s Flashback” featuring an array of stars from that swinging decade, including “The Supremes” singer Mary Wilson, “Leave it to Beaver” star Jerry Mathers, and the “My Three Sons” trio of Stanley Livingston, Tina Cole and Dawn Lyn at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT. In addition, Emily Swallow will participate in the first “Wizard World Virtual Photo Ops” on Nov. 1 at 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT, followed by live video chats at 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT. And on Halloween, get spooky with “Game of Thrones” headliners Julian Glover, Ian McElhinney, Ian Beattie, Clive Russell and Murray McArthur at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT. During each session, the celebrities will participate in a FREE live moderated video Q&A, followed by one-on-one video chats, recorded videos and autographs. Sessions are accessible to virtual attendees on their computer and mobile devices via www.wizardworldvirtual.com.

That’s it for now family! Until next thought, Thomasena



Categories: Scattered Thoughts

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: